Retired legends Foyt, Andretti still heavily involved in INDYCAR racing

Related eBooks

Gateway Motorsports Park presents the Verizon IndyCar Series Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presented by Valvoline on August 26


June 2, 2017, St. Louis Region – Even if you’ve never watched an automobile race, you’ve no doubt heard of these guys. A.J. Foyt and Mario Andretti are worldwide motorsports legends and they still participate in the Verizon IndyCar Series. They are the reassuring connection between the sport’s rough-and-tumble barnstorming era and INDYCAR’S “Next” generation of superstars.


Foyt is the only driver to win the Indianapolis 500 (four times), Daytona 500, 24 Hours of Le Mans and the 24 Hours of Daytona. Dubbed “Super Tex” during the old school days of ABC’s “Wide World of Sports” TV broadcasts, Foyt retired from INDYCAR racing in 1993 and NASCAR in 1994. He still holds the record for most Indy car wins (67) while earning seven national championships. Now a team owner, he is the president of A.J. Foyt Racing and fields cars for Carlos Munoz and Conor Daly on the Verizon IndyCar Series circuit. On race day you’ll find him on pit road, keeping a watchful eye on his teams.


It’s difficult to find someone who hasn’t heard Mario Andretti’s name. To race fans, he is a living legend. To those unfortunate souls stopped by police for speeding, his name is used in admonishment: “Who do you think you are, Mario Andretti?” Andretti won the Daytona 500 in 1967, the Indianapolis 500 in 1969 and the  Formula One World Driving Championship in 1978.


To ride with Mario is a coveted honor and a thrill. At most venues on race day, he takes celebrity guests for a spin around the track in Honda’s Fastest Seat in Sports — a special two-seat INDYCAR, constructed for high-speed experiences. In 2014, Mario took 102-year-old Edith Pittenger for the ride of her lifetime at Indianapolis.


The Andretti name has carried on in motorsports through three generations. Son Michael Andretti won 42 Indy car races during his driving career and now owns Andretti Autosport, which fields cars for Verizon IndyCar Series drivers Marco Andretti (Michael’s son), 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, 2016 Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi and 2017 Indianapolis 500 winner Japan’s Takuma Sato. Andretti Autosport has won four INDYCAR championships.


Truly an international event, the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presented by Valvoline for the first time will bring to GMP all of the cars and stars of the Indianapolis 500. In addition to America’s best drivers, the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 also will draw competitors from Australia, Brazil, Canada, Russia, Colombia, France, Japan, New Zealand, Spain, United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom.


The inaugural Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presented by Valvoline is joined by the annual NASCAR Camping World Truck Series’ Drivin’ for Linemen 200 (June 17) and NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series’ AAA Insurance Midwest NHRA Nationals (September 29-October 1) on Gateway Motorsports Park ‘s 2017 major event schedule.


To purchase tickets or obtain more information on Gateway Motorsports Park, please call (618) 215-8888 or visit Follow GMP on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat and Instagram.


READ  Lisa Fernandez bumps umpire, UCLA beats Texas A&M 8-2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *